Neon Lights

glow-sticks-LS-party-1-amazon.jpg

A high-school short story.

There’s a song inside my head that keeps playing, and it goes on like this…
if you just realize
what I just realized
then we’d be perfect for each other
and we’ll never find another.

I remember I was at home going through the clothes on my cabinet thinking what I should wear to the dance. So I picked up a black shirt, black jeans, a pair of converse and a watch that I’ve been saving up for a special occasion where I want to look nice. I don’t wear a watch because I can easily look up the time on my phone and I just find it useless.

I’m waiting on the couch because for some reason I purposely want to come late, and to be honest I can’t even remember why. The gates open at 6 p.m. and it’s already 8 p.m. and I’m just sitting there. I got a text from Mary, this girl that I had a crush on for God knows how long.
“Where the hell are you?” she said. “Home, I’m leaving soon.” I replied. “Hurry, I’ll wait for you at the gate.” upon reading her text, I immediately got up with a stupid smile on my face. Stupid, so very stupid.

When I arrived at the gate I was surprised to see her, she wasn’t kidding. She was wearing the same color as mine and she looks so… how do I say it… pretty, majestic, drop dead gorgeous. And I did, well in my head I did, I dropped dead. I was just staring at her and I felt my face flush.
“You’re late, what took you so long?” she said as I entered the gate. She handed me one of those glow sticks that you can wear like a bracelet. It was the theme for the dance, a “Neon Lights” kinda night, I remember she was green and I was red, literally I was red like a tomato when she put it on me.

We met up with our other classmates wearing different colors of bracelets. I split up with the group and went with my friends that were gathered in the middle. A few conversations later someone approached me and said Mary was looking for me. It turns out it’s a different Mary, well you should know there are two Mary’s on our school and they are both beautiful, the other Mary was my classmate in grade-school that changed schools in high-school anyway, more about her later.

I never went, instead I went to find Mary, my current classmate, the Mary of my dreams and only my dream. The night was going great until I got a text from one of my classmates.

“If I see you with her I’m going to kill you. I know you like her.”

Have you ever felt the feeling where the world is suddenly against you? Where your so called “friends” never even wanted you to be with the girl you like? I never even thought I’d feel those kinds of things but I did. It’s unfair, and unreasonable, just because they like her doesn’t mean I can’t. I’m not breaking any codes or anything and let me explain why. They all liked her too for all the obvious reasons, but they’re much stupid-er? Is that a word? Anyway, they confessed and got turned down. Maybe brave is the word I’m looking for and I’m just a coward playing it safe. But that night I’ve decided to change all that. I was going to tell her how I feel.

It’s funny how I’m sitting next to her, I’m finally with her, just the two of us and all I could think about is what those idiots told me. It made me so uncomfortable, I don’t even know if I should still confess. We talked, and God I know I was boring, so boring I don’t even want to talk to me, but she’s good, she’s kind, she’s nice, of course she would still talk to me. It was already midnight and she asked me to dance, I felt a jolt inside my body and it made me jump to my feet. The night is still great.

“3…2…1…”

Fireworks flew and exploded in the sky. It lit up the whole place with all kinds of colors similar to the bands on everyone’s wrists. It lit up the whole sky I can’t even see the stars anymore. We just stood there, too close, I can see her eyes shining, shimmering, splendid. Okay, that was from Aladdin but it’s true.

That was the perfect opportunity, the perfect moment, a scene so perfect like it was stolen from a movie,  it was perfect.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

