Bakemono

bakemono-zukushi-monster-scroll-16

i remember that one night
when the lamp moved on its own
i hid under the blankets
and closed my eyes

i remember that one night
i was too scared to move,
too scared to scream, and cry
for help

i always thought they were
imaginary, unreal
but why can i feel its presence
how does it manage to wear me out

i wish i could just
hide under the blankets
close my eyes
like i did that night

looking back
if i tried to scream
i’m sure they will be there
i’m sure they will help me

i never really broke habits
i still hide under the blankets whenever i
feel its presence getting closer
and closer and closer

i never really broke habits
i still close my eyes whenever i
feel its breath
right next to my skin

i never really broke habits
i’m still to scared to move
too scared to scream, and cry
for help

i wish i could just
hide under the blankets
and close my eyes
but it’s not working

i wish i could just
hide under the blankets, close my eyes
and never wake up
maybe then, it would finally leave me alone

i always thought that
they’ll be there
if i tried to scream
i was sure

i cried my heart out
but why can’t you see them?
are they only
imaginary, unreal?

One thought on “Bakemono

  1. Pingback: Bed Time Story | Fictionspawn Monsters

Leave a Reply

