Boku dake ga Inai Machi (Erased) Anime Review

77957

Synopsis:

When tragedy is about to strike, Satoru Fujinuma finds himself sent back several minutes before the accident occurs. The detached, 29-year-old manga artist has taken advantage of this powerful yet mysterious phenomenon, which he calls “Revival,” to save many lives.

However, when he is wrongfully accused of murdering someone close to him, Satoru is sent back to the past once again, but this time to 1988, 18 years in the past. Soon, he realizes that the murder may be connected to the abduction and killing of one of his classmates, the solitary and mysterious Kayo Hinazuki, that took place when he was a child. This is his chance to make things right.

Boku dake ga Inai Machi follows Satoru in his mission to uncover what truly transpired 18 years ago and prevent the death of his classmate while protecting those he cares about in the present.

[Written by MAL Rewrite]

Review:

erased_screenshot_0018

First off, let’s give a huge round of applause to this guy, Satoru and the man behind his voice Mitsushima, Shinnosuke. All the V.A.s are good but his voice stood out the most for me, because I was caught off-guard the first time I heard his voice, it’s awkward and unfamiliar. So I did my research after I finished the series and seems that my hunch was true, that it’s his first anime that he voiced in. Saying that it’s his “big” break is an understatement, it’s a huge, gigantic, humongous, the size of Mt. Everest break.

aolzqhg

The animation is crazy good. The picture above is an example how the anime flaunts how good the animation really is. Everything in this anime is fast, the transition of the scenes, the story, many events occur in a single episode but if you pay really close attention to it you’ll be able to understand.

aaaa

This line is the opening line of Satoru, it sounds so poetic and I like it. During this time he seems lethargic, the word “fun” doesn’t exists in his vocabulary and all the happiness was sucked out from inside him. He is a mediocre manga artist, his boss is not so impressed with his work and he works a part-time job at a pizza place just to get by. But he has another thing going on in his life, “Revival”, a phenomenon where he goes back and re-lives the moment minutes before a tragedy happens, hence the word “Revival”. I watched Re:Zero first so I saw similarities of the two the only difference is that Satoru doesn’t need to die, “Revival” just happens sporadically.

03-6

Seeing a love one cold, dead and murdered is one of the most horrific experience on a person’s life. Everything happened so fast I felt like Satoru when he first saw his mom, shocked and speechless. The worst part is that how easy the police suspected him for killing his mom, well he did ran away when they confronted him but given how they approached him, they’re practically stating that he really is a murderer.

its-all-on-your-buddy

My assumption is that a “Revival” would happen minutes before his mom died but the thing is he’s not present when the actual tragedy occurred so there’s no way he can fix it. So when he returned 18 years in the past that’s where the story really pans out. The root cause of the problem occurred when he was in elementary so to change the future he needs to fix the past. I find Kenya, one of Satoru’s best friends in elementary, quite weird because he doesn’t act his age, he instantly noticed Satoru’s strange behaviors, and the words he said are not what 11 year olds usually say. But hey it’s anime it’s a weird world out here lol :D.

Around episode 8 is when I first hinted who the potential killer is and it fucked me up. I was like “I trusted you, everyone trusted you, how can you do this to us?”. So when they revealed the actual killer I was surprised because based from the Scream series I rarely guess right from these kinds of situations. When Satoru got cornered and became the target I thought that “superheroes really do get the short end of the stick.”. He ended up in a coma for 15 years, his mom took care of him for 15 years, FIFTEEN FUCKING YEARS, if his mom doesn’t get an MVP award for that I don’t know what will.

bdgim12

But if I were to give an MVP award, I’ll duplicate that award and give it to everyone, it kills the idea of being the MVP but I don’t care. The characters are really good, his friends and his mom who stood by him and never left all that time, who believed in him, who trusted him. Even Kayo’s mom who made my blood boil from anger and Yashiro who broke my trust, who made me feel so naive for trusting him so easily. All these emotions I felt will never be possible if it weren’t for them.

tumblr_o14n8dk63l1s5f9ado2_500

The last episode is one of the best and this one deserves it like all the others that are too many to mention that didn’t get the ending it deserves ( I know you guys probably already have a few titles in mind haha ). At first I was bummed that Kayo got married and had a baby I really like them together but I understand that 15 years can be too long and there is a possibility that Satoru may not wake up, but she acknowledge him as her savior so it’s all good.

He wanted to be a hero and he became one. When the last scene under the bridge played out and he saw Airi, the expression on his face, I don’t know what it’s called but I felt it, it felt so heartwarming, my throat started to feel funny, my eyelids became heavy and my vision became blurry. I didn’t just smile for a second, I was smiling, teary-eyed, even after the credits rolled.

Heroes usually get the short end of the stick but they always get the girl at the end. 😀

5 thoughts on “Boku dake ga Inai Machi (Erased) Anime Review

  1. I absolutely loved this show. I thought it was one if the best Animeseries I have seen this entire year, and also one of the best that I have seen period!. Great post, and I completely agree with everything you wrote: this one was one hell of an emotional ride 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

